Three Year Anniversary!

2nd August 2017

Well here I am in my third year of business, looking back  on my journey so far, it seems a little like a course you take, but learning to steer your own ship. No one can tell you exactly how to go about it but at the same time guidance and support is gratefully received and I have been very lucky to have had both! Quite a few eventful things have been going on behind the scenes recently and finally I can write about everything!  

Back in July I had my trade mark officially approved and am glad to say I am now an official ladieswear brand! It is quite a long process to go through but definitely worth the wait!  

I had a really proud moment when I finally received my official woven garment labels after years of wishing I could! Below are previous examples on my road to being myself, above is the beautiful new one! It has taken a long time but I decided never to give up.

By now I think you may have seen the initial marketing images for the Gorillas and Gowns Charity Fashion Show, but if you haven't, below is a preview of one of the images being photographed for the brochure, by the amazing Jane Mucklow of @janemucklowphotography!  

Below is the official media marketing poster designed by Jane Mucklow and it has all the organisers and participants logos on it, including the amazing venue Port Lympne Hotel! If you have never been, look out for some photographs of this stunning venue in future posts! We have @butterflies2019 the fabulous Amanda Flanders as event organiser, @vanillaweb the brilliant Business Bunker radio show host Paul Andrews as compere, @janemucklowphotography event photographer, @MollyMoodleUK the lovely social media marketing expert, Joshua Birch Jones an incredible twelve year old ladieswear designer, yes you heard it here first... and myself @cb1dresses!

Apart from the preparations for the fashion show, mostly of which means that I will be making some spectacular new eveningwear dresses, I have been busy working on various bespoke projects for summer weddings and mostly mother of the bride dresses and outfits, hopefully I will have some photos to share with you of one or two of those soon! Below is a glimpse of a special hand beaded trim I will be using on one of my new one off pieces for the show. I have come a long way in the last few years and still have much to learn and much to create, not least for the show in September.  

For the last three years, I have been trying to balance two businesses within one, working for clients on bespoke projects and as a studio for other fashion businesses, whilst trying to create my lifelong passion of an eveningwear collection. All the work I have put in has been a learning curve for me, no one can know how to do everything, but what I don't know I have been learning how to do, which is an ongoing process but I never get bored!  Infact I love what I do and look forward to many more years creating and evolving my business and my British, ethical eveningwear brand!