LSE SU Charity Fashion Show  2016

21st April 2016

 As a relatively new business woman and entrepreneur, I have been lucky to have many new and exciting  opportunities come my way.  I was thrilled to be invited to show some of my garments in the London School of Economics Annual Charity Fashion Show in February this year and was not going to pass this up!  Having the chance to take part in a show, with my own work, is something I have not been able to do since I was at college and now I was able to show my own designs which I hope will showcase my business and the attract interest in my designs.  

I had already made a capsule collection of six pieces (currently on my website) which I was initially intending to show when I was asked to participate. However, I wanted to make more statement pieces to really show what  my business and label is all about. The theme of the new capsule collection is "The Power of a Woman", contrasting the strong, powerful side of women, against the softer more vulnerable side. This is depicted using strong shapes in the silhouettes and the use of leather and crisp heavy satin, alongside the soft, fluid lines created by using the crepe de chines. I was inspired to create a collection around strong women, based on the media's portrayal of powerful women in society in general, thus leading me to examine high profile dominant female characters from  history to recent times.    

I was so pleased that two of my garments were used in the finale! There were so many talented designers taking part in the show, such an inspiration. I love seeing what other designers create! 

I am so grateful to have been given the opportunity to show some of my designs and would like to thank the LSE SU fashion show organisers, The DSTRKT nightclub, in central London, for holding the event and to the photographers for the use of the amazing images. Also I have to say a big thank you to family and friends for the support they have given me as I started out and continue to grow my business.They all know it is a passion I have had all my life, so to finally be doing the thing I love the most is amazing for me! This has been a rewarding experience for me and one that has inspired me to keep creating my unique designs!